Clean Eating

More Avocados and Eggs

Being raised in the deep south I never once saw an avocado grace my grandmother’s kitchen table.  In fact, I didn’t  know how to cut an avocado open much less how one tasted until well after I had moved away from home.  Well I’ve been making up for lost time in a big way!  I often slice one up to put on a burger, add one to a smoothie, fill one with eggs, chopped veggies and cheese  and I freeze them for later use.  My newest favorite is a scrumptious avocado and egg breakfast “pizza”.

If you have a toaster oven this can be an extremely quick yet healthy breakfast for you!

IMG_2725

As with any pizza there are no limitations to your imagination here.  Experiment and have some fun with your favorite toppings!

Now remember when you were making those delicious egg filled baked Avocados and you scooped out some of the flesh to make room for your eggs?

Here’s where  you get to use that yummy avocado flesh.

Avocado – Egg Breakfast Pizza

1  Whole (not half)- Whole Grain or Whole Wheat Pita OR Naan Bread

Mashed Avocado flesh  (mashed with a little lemon juice, salt & pepper)

Cooked turkey  bacon; crumbled

1 Large (organic if possible) Egg

Shredded cheese of choice (I used Mozzarella here)

Olive oil or olive oil spray

salt

pepper

Before the egg
Before the egg
IMG_2715
Egg placed on top

Pre-heat toaster oven at 350 degrees

Spray or  spread a little olive oil on the bread; about 1-2 tsp

Spread the mashed avocado around close to the edges of the bread

Sprinkle the turkey bacon and cheese on top of the avocado

Pour the egg on top right in the center

Gently place your pizza into the pre-heated toaster oven

Bake until egg is set to your liking; approx. 15-20 min.

             IMG_2725

Toaster ovens vary so watch closely the first time you try this dish. Personally, I like my egg yolk to be soft and a deep yellow color but I don’t like uncooked white’s at all.

It takes a little practice and finessing (a word??) to get the egg just the way you like it but well worth the time.

ENJOY!

Leave a comment